Quote in a day

Copyrighted_Image_Reuse_Prohibited_127630

pic via http://images.dpchallenge.com/images_challenge/0-999/286/800/Copyrighted_Image_Reuse_Prohibited_127630.jpg

(lol at the url :P )

Do you believe in God, Andrei? No. Neither do I. But that’s a favorite question of mine. An upside-down question, you know. What do you mean? Well, if I asked people whether they believed in life, they’d never understand what I meant. It’s a bad question. It can mean so much that it really means nothing. So I ask them if they believe in God. And if they say they do — then, I know they don’t believe in life. Why? Because, you see, God — whatever anyone chooses to call God — is one’s highest conception of the highest possible. And whoever places his highest conception above his own possibility thinks very little of himself and his life. It’s a rare gift, you know, to feel reverence for your own life and to want the best, the greatest, the highest possible, here, now, for your very own.

-We The Living by Ayn Rand

Thanks to Josh Lipana for this

FOREVER FORNEVER

2 thoughts on “Quote in a day

  1. I don’t think there is anything wrong with thinking highly of yourself. You must do this to be your best in everything you do. But there is nothing great about denying that there is something greater than we are. Something more powerful. If you look at all the world it is clearly revealed that there is design in the world. If it is all just by chance, than we are nothing more than a chance mishap. I would not feel nearly as good about myself being a chance mishap rather than a creation by design.

    I write a blog about how men can be great through love. I hope you will check it when you have a chance.

    http://whatsheneedsfromyou.wordpress.com

    Thanks,

    Like

    • Highly thinking of myself sounds too proud, I would say, putting my own existence to good use. And by good use meaning, living life to it’s fullest of it’s full, doing my best with what I’ve got (as you said so earlier) and of course, one can not enjoy life if he doesn’t share it with others.

      Although I can not deny the existence of a higher being. Even scientist can’t ignore that, they just brush it off cause they can’t prove it yet. But what I do deny is the identity of God or god or whatever one chooses to call God. I just can’t accept the fact that a being so powerful, so full of wisdom and knowledge and so perfect could have created a world full of destruction, death, pain, agony, so on and so on…

      But as you said, if everything here is just an accident, if our life, our existence, us being who were are… just a tiny blip of life in the vast universe, is just a mishap, just an accident, just something that happened by coincidence… I would really doubt that all of us human beings are just some sort sort of accident, I believe we are miracles.

      It’s a miracle that there was a universe in the first place. It’s a miracle that our galaxy, our solar system didn’t actually explode at the time it was still being formed. It’s a miracle that we have a planet to live on (do you know the chances of getting a planet like ours?) It’s a miracle that the earth stopped breathing fire and eventually took on a life of it’s own, creating water, for life, for us. We are definitely a miracle, to think that we could’ve been killed by some asteroid or some great flood or plague that killed all the species on earth. With all these accidental occurrences of luck on our side, I think it would be safe to our existence as a miracle.

      Like

Leave a Reply

