My Reaction to Non-Smokers/Drinkers, Virgins, Law Abiders and Scholars on Facebook

There are some pretty boring things that happen on Facebook, some of them worth ignoring, some of them extremely annoying (like the pillow fight thing) and some of them are just plain stupid. As a lover of knowledge, logic and philosophy (redundant, I know), I got pissed when I read a certain ‘status update’. If you haven’t read it, it goes:

I’ve never had sex. Never smoked. Never got drunk. Never been arrested. Never snuck out or ever skipped class. Copy and paste this as your status, who ever likes it, thinks you’re lying.

To my disgust I replied

I’ve never had sex. Never smoked. Never got drunk. Never been arrested. Never snuck out or ever skipped class… Who the fuck would believe that crap? :)) I am imperfect, I accept my flaws and I improve myself from my mistakes. Think I’m lying?

Unfortunately there were some people who misinterpreted my post (but I went along with them anyway). What I was saying was that I did not lie about being imperfect, having flaws or improving myself from my mistakes. Anyway that aside…

I was really mad when I saw this post circulating in Facebook. Why? They are implying that people who don’t smoke, get drunk, get arrested, skip class and who are virgins are better people than those who are otherwise. With that kind of logic, you’re no better than what you think you are better than.

Just because a girl loves to have a promiscuous life does not mean she is less of a person than you are. Just because a man smokes two packs each day does not mean he is less of a person than you are, in fact he may even value life more than you do! Just because a girl can’t hold her liquor does not mean she’s just another drunk girl on the street (unless she is literally another drunk girl on the street. What a strange-looking street.) Just because a homeless person got arrested does not make him/her less of a person than you are, s/he may just be shoplifting some food for his/her family, did you ever think of that? Just because I skipped classes back in HS did not mean I was a stupid person, I mean look where I am now! I’m studying at DLSU, one of the most prestigious universities in the Philippines, plus I’m on the Honor Roll/Dean’s List. In fact, students who are 1st honors are allowed to cut a subject as much as they want. WHO’S THE STUPID ONE NOW?

So before you open your little pie holes with your ‘status updates’ that “prove” that you’re better than the people you think you are better than, look at yourself and see if you are even better than yourself! ‘Cause I’m sure hells you ain’t.

PS. use that thing in your head you call a brain.

2 thoughts on “My Reaction to Non-Smokers/Drinkers, Virgins, Law Abiders and Scholars on Facebook

Leave a Reply

