WordPress, User Roles and God

A couple of days back, I decided to make another blog entirely for indie, not-so-well-known, hipster etc. music, but I couldn’t do it alone. I knew this would soon die if I didn’t have other people pitching in. So I asked a very close-to-my-heart friend to help me out.

Here in WordPress, only people with WP accounts can go and collaborate on a single blog. So I sent her an invite.

The next step was to decide what she would be in the blog, and WordPress makes a description of the user roles along with an evident hierarchy of it (the roles, that is).

Contributor

A contributor can edit their posts but cannot publish them. When a contributor creates a post, it will need to be submitted to an administrator for review. Once a contributor’s post is approved by an administrator and published, however, it may no longer be edited by the contributor.

The Contributors, if I were to compare them in a religious stand point, are the common people of God.

Author

An author can edit, publish and delete their posts, as well as upload files/images.

The Author would probably be the priests, pope, bishops etc.

Editor

An editor can publish, edit, and delete any posts/pages, moderate comments, manage categories, manage tags, manage links and upload files/images.

Now the Editor, I believe, is Jesus Christ. The Prophet. It kinda suits him, right?

And finally:

Administrator

An administrator has full and complete ownership of a blog, and can do absolutely everything. This person has complete power over posts/pages, comments, settings, theme choice, import, users – the whole shebang. Nothing is off-limits, including deleting the entire blog.

Only one administrator per blog is recommended!

God is the Administrator. He can do anything and nothing is off-limits. But there is a catch, there should only be one.

Now I’ve got nothing to prove with I just discovered :P I just thought it might be interesting for you to know :D

Leave a Reply

