Reasons Why I Hate DLSU-M (part 2): Taft Avenue

If we compare Katipunan Ave. to Taft Ave., there is a clear difference. Taft is one of the most terrible places I have had to visit frequently; the most I could take was the civil service program that schools requires us to do (apparently they have to force us to do good deeds).

Each time I disembark the LRT to get to DLSU-M (my school), my senses are just blasted with a hoard of bad energy. What do I mean, you ask? Well let me list down the things I experience in Taft:

1. Noise pollution: Jeepneys, trucks, cabs and cars screech and beep at each other repeatedly. And their engines are such an earsore (not a real word).
2. Pedicab drivers: These people annoy me because the come up to me and speak to me going “ride, sir?” Ugh… they invade my space, and I could smell their breath, plus they look extremely unsanitary
3. Trash: Now Katipunan has some trash on the street too, but not as much as Taft, where you could actually see rotten food and liquids that give off a foul stench. I saw a dead rat as well.
4. Flood: Taft has very poor sewage systems, so when it rain the road gets flooded. But it’s not just rain water, the water from the sewer gets pushed out unto the street.
5. Air pollution: The number of jeepneys, buses and trucks that smoke-belch is astounding.
6. Beggar kids: These kids really piss me off. I can stand the begging and the “cute eyes” but these kids touch you, they hold your arm and beg. I hate being touched by ugly, smelly strangers, what more if they were beggar kids.
7. Crazy drivers: Beating the red light is actually one of the most favorite pass-times of drivers in Taft. They have no respect for traffic rules and they have no idea what right-of-way is. Which bring us to number eight.
8. Lack of pedestrian bridges: Katipunan has made it a point to provide bridges for its citizens, that way we wouldn’t have to dodge traffic. Taft obviously lacks these; there are some but as I said, they lack it.
9. Congested pathways: Taft’s pedestrian pathways at the roadside are ALWAYS occupied by something or someone. In fact, sometimes it’s better to walk on the road than on the pathway.
10. Safety: Taft is not a safe place to be. I’ve witnessed a shoot-out with my mother when we were on the way home. Insane. Plus I heard that a La Sallian was once kidnapped there, I dunno what happened to him/her.

These are some of the reasons why I hate Taft Avenue, there are more reasons but I think ten are fine. Now Katipunan has some of these as well, but they are minimal compared to Taft.

Now imagine that I have to put up with this everyday. I get into school groggy and stressed because of Taft, then when schools over I’m greeted by Taft and its ten companions…

I can only take a breather when I finally see Katipunan, but that’s an hour-and-a-half away for DLSU-M.

Yes I know what you’re thinking, again.. “But Taft is a road and DLSU-M is not Taft!” But the only way to get to DLSU-M is through Taft, duh.

I must transfer to Ateneo.

Leave a Reply

