Comic Artist’s Opinion On Blogging Platforms

The person you see above is a comic artist and drawing artist(?) that I follow; his name is Rob Cham. I discovered him through a web comic artist that I follow, Antics. Rob Cham was a guest comic artist for Antics and I followed the link to his work, and I must say, it’s quite hilarious and refreshing :D

He recently revived his blog and he discusses why he did so. One paragraph really caught my eye mainly because I share the same view about Tumblr. Though it’s the last sentence that impressed me the most.

Blogger or WordPress seem more like legitimate blogging platforms where as Tumblr is just where people re-post and post pretty pictures hoping those get re-posted on someone else’s blog, that and some rather amazing artists that I cannot really dismiss. I mostly follow the latter, but Tumblr can get grating when you realize how 9,000 people will read what you post and skip over it because it has content longer than 2 sentences. I’d rather settle for a smaller audience who actually give a damn than a large group who would rather see me draw something like pandas day in and day out.

Maybe I’m just bitter.

From here

After I read this, I realised that Rob Cham had depth in thought, and yes, I admit that I thought that all he thought about were pandas. I apologise and I’m glad that I’m wrong. My view on Rob Cham has changed and I hope to see him post more insightful… uhh, posts in the upcoming future, or days, whichever comes first.

CHECK OUT HIS SITE

PS I do think having a small audience that gives a damn about what you write is better rather than a huge number that “hates to reads”.

Leave a Reply

