I have Discovered My Type of Buddhism

A couple of days ago I saw this trailer in one of my facebook groups–Filipino Buddhism. I got myself a copy of it, and I finally found out what kind of meditation I needed. Here’s the trailer:

As you can see, this movie is EPIC. Not just because Jackie Chan’s there (well partly anyway), but because it deals with Buddhism, and I love Buddhism LOL.

I watched a the movie until [SPOILERS] the point where the main character retrieved the bodies of the sons from the village. It didn’t take me that long however to realize that the kind of meditation I’ve been practicing wasn’t for me. So far I’ve been meditating through complete stillness–just like how we are accustomed to, and this was not just working for me properly.

Around a week ago, I bought a book entitled A Discovery of Witches. You may have known about this since I did blog about it, but back to the main point. There was a part in the book when Diana Bishop’s boat rowing was being explained by the vampire, Matthew Clairmont. He said, “That’s the way you row–a combination of movement and meditation”. Diana has an excess of adrenaline that’s caused by her surplus of magic, and if she doesn’t drain her adrenaline, it affects her magic. So she needs to keep her body moving to keep her magic in check. The last time she lost control of her magic, I believed she accidentally set her parent’s kitchen on fire.

So anyway, back to my point.

My type of meditation is not sitting still for hours on end, trying to achieve enlightenment with the dharma that’s been passed down to me (as if I ever had a Buddhist mentor). In order for my mind to be still, my body needs to move. It sounds contradictory, but Shaolin monks are living proof of that. However, that doesn’t mean that they don’t meditate in stillness; they still do that.

I’ve done many sports in the past: basketball, football, volleyball, badminton, table tennis, golf, swimming, biking, judo, tae-kwon-do and some other things I can’t remember. I always had a refreshing feeling after a good workout (but I don’t workout now because of college, and so I look terrible).

My mind feels blank when I do something repetitive, and yet it is so aware of its surroundings. I will still meditate in absolute stillness, but only if I feel like I really need stillness. I need movement, to keep my mind still <– that’s me.

Leave a Reply

