Bidding Farewell to an Old Enemy (again)

This is the fourth draft. I’ll just make this simple. I quit smoking again. I smoked for a month when my mother was hospitalised. I stopped because I felt so disgusting. The cigarettes felt good but I just felt so gross afterwards (I used the word felt four times, I know. Deal with it). I left the pack and lighter on top of some Murakami novels in National Bookstore at Katips. Somehow it was appropriate to leave it there like it was meant to be.
Chewing gum is infinitely more satisfying.

Leave a Reply

