And another post on happiness

There has been a great amount of incredibly influencial set of circumstances that has fallen upon me this past week. One of which was my discussion with my mother on my academic trip to Japan. I’ve been planning this trip for most of my childhood till now. 

I’ve always looked forward. If there’s one thing that my parents’ generation and our generation have in common is that we’re both looking forward to the future; it’s something that must be acquired. The past, however, is a different story.

Since this is about happiness, the joy one has experienced​ differs. Some people are born into families that love and support one another. This love and support would translate into personal growth in mental and emotional stability. These are some of the bases for a person’s internal happiness, and if that person has had those while growing up, he’s had a good past. But then there are people with families who have disjuncted love and support, like mine.

How can one grow as a person, move forward, and reach for the stars when family is lacking? When I talked about my Japan trip, I was quickly reminded of my past. I never thought of what would happen to my mother if I left her. Is it selfish of me to think of my own happiness when my mother said that all she wished was for my own happiness? I’m not even​ sure if she can literally survive without me because I doubt that my father would take care of her.

This is what’s holding me back, my father’s ineptness to take care of my mother and my mother’s lack of skills to take care of herself. There’s no love and support among my parents, and I want to escape that. Yet, it seems like I can’t escape because their lack of love and support holds me back.

Leave a Reply

